Beautiful Bride: Kate Jackson

Every now and then, I meet a bride whose fiancé is what I call “non-compliant,” that is, make-up “unfriendly.”

This is a challenge I always look forward to, because it’s my firm belief that most men who don’t like make-up react badly because the make-up is done badly, as in too much, not blended, wrong colors/textures, etc.

The day that I met Kate Jackson for her trial run, her intended, Ramsey, was not outright hostile, but he made it quite clear that I was about to disfigure his gorgeous bride-to-be. I did soft, believable make-up on the perfectly-complected Kate, made it out of there in one piece, and looked forward to seeing them both again on August 22nd.

The wedding preparations took place at Kate’s parent’s home (mom Dianne is a great lady, and participated in my recent “Make-up for Mature Women” workshop at DuPortail House in Chesterbrook). Even though the power went off at one point (fortunately, I’m not a hairstylist), everyone was ready on time.

In spite of the initial skepticism, I received this lovely note from Kate:

“We had such a fantastic evening, and are so grateful for the amazing make-up you did for us – me, my maid of honor, mother of the bride and mother of the groom . We were all so pleased with the way we looked both in person and in the photos. I’m sure you remember from the make-up trial how much my husband, Ramsey, disliked me wearing make-up. Well, on the wedding day right after we saw each other for the first time, Ramsey told me ‘I can’t believe I’m saying this, but your make-up looks really good!’ You officially won over your harshest critic!”

Ah, victory is sweet…and best wishes to this even sweeter couple!

One thought on “Beautiful Bride: Kate Jackson

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Beautiful Bride: Kate Jackson « Béke Beau -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment